Art blurg

7 Mar

I’ve had a couple 16 x 20 blank canvases in my possession for the last four years. Every time I have moved I’ve packed them up and told myself that I really need to do something with them.

Let me tell you: four years of thinking about what i could do with them was four years too long. Talk about putting pressure on yourself to make something really amazing!

I moved into my apartment last May (I can’t believe it’s coming up on a year!), and I allocated the wall space above my couch to the yet-to-be-created twin masterpieces.

I love geometric shapes and lines, so I decided that I would try using painter’s tape and make something with white lines. I’ve had the tape for a while and every weekend I would tell myself that it was time to just buckle down and paint something.

For some reason, I actually did it this weekend! Yay!

Or not.

It’s not a bad painting per se. It’s not perfect or anything, but there’s nothing terrible about it. But I just don’t love it. It doesn’t really speak to me or have any meaning. This is probably not the best way to introduce something, but I like to be honest.

So, let’s reveal the masterpiece, shall we? (Pardon the photo quality. My cell phone camera is not quite state-of-the-art.)

Step 1 was taping:

Image

I kinda liked the white and blue – it looks very Greek.

Then I painted, and then the fun part came – peeling the tape off!

Image

Not pictured: Me shooing away my cat while the paint dried. He still managed to jump on it – thankfully it was mostly dry by then.

Here’s the final product:

Image

Image

It’s just ok… I think that the paintings are too small for the space and I didn’t do a very good job hanging it. I also do not really like the color – I was hoping for something darker with a little bit more green.

I didn’t really have much of a plan when I started on this. I just started taping a jagged line and then I decided to tape another jagged line parallel to it. It was pretty haphazard and not a lot of thought or passion went it. I’m realizing as I think more about it that it kind of represents my life right now. I’m going through the motions and doing the things that I need to do, but I am not really excited about any of it.

Now the question is what to do with it. I could keep it on the wall and learn to love it. Or I could give it away (does anybody want it? because you can have it. i mean it! just let me know.). Or I could paint over it and try something new. If nobody claims it, I’ll probably go with option 3.

Hopefully it won’t take me four years to come up with a new design.

(Sorry if this post is Negative Nancy. I was just really excited about the painting and then that turned into I’m really not excited about the painting.)

3 Responses to “Art blurg”

  1. bethy March 7, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    i think they look good. but another cheap idea would be to cover them with fabric and staple it onto the back. then you could change it up pretty easily.

  2. Sam March 7, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    If you don’t like the outcome, repaint. That is the beauty of canvas. Also the beauty of life.
    Every journey leads to new adventures and new ideas and better journeys and better ideas.

    on a side note, I couldn’t help but wonder what would happen if you separated the two of them and turned them on a diagonal…..

Leave a Reply

