Avoid it

3 Nov

While I’m on the topic of food, here’s a little public service announcement from me:

For the love of all that is holy, do not buy:

  • Trader Joe’s baked blue corn tortilla chips. Since they’re baked, I didn’t expect a flavor fiesta in my mouth – which is good because those “chips” tasted like straight up cardboard (el cardboardo). Barely salted cardboardo at that. Avoid it. Also, while we’re on the topic of TJs, if you buy their avocados, carefully inspect them and if they seem too soft, do not use – I got food poisoning several years ago from it. It was unpleasant and turned me off guacamole for a while – and that is a travesty.
  • Lipton Cup A Soup (chicken noodle). I am no snob when it comes to this type of stuff, but this soup, which I just made 5 minutes ago, is really not good. Maybe it shouldn’t come as a surprise that this cheap as hell instant soup isn’t very good, but let me tell you that Lipton Soup Secrets chicken noodle soup is the bomb. It has been my food staple when I’m sick ever since I was a kid. It is delicious and salty and wonderful. I don’t know what Lipton did to the Cup A Soup. Maybe it was the decision to use “A” instead of “of” that sent bad grammar vibes into the broth? Avoid it.

What say you? What’s your food regret? What should we not buy?

Leave a Reply

