What’s cookin?

12 Jan

The past few days I’ve tried to get back in the kitchen (not that I was ever really THAT in the kitchen to begin with) and try out some new recipes.

First up was this chocolate peanut butter pie. I’ve been waiting a long time to make this. I knew that I had to make it for some sort of event where I would not be able to eat it, as I knew that if I kept it at home, I’d eat it all in 2 days.

We have a themed monthly potluck at church, and this month the theme was legumes. Since peanuts are legumes and because peanut butter is delicious, I knew it was time to bust out the killer pie. It should come as no surprise that the pie went very quickly – I didn’t even have any. But, lucky for me or unfortunately, depending on how you view it, not all of the batter fit into the crust, so I wound up having my own mini pie waiting for me in the refrigerator at home when the potluck was over. And oh man, is it good!

Last night I made Squash, Bacon, and Goat Cheese Pasta with Basil. I know, right? It was pretty good although I used whole wheat shells for the pasta, and as much as I try and try, I just don’t really like whole wheat pasta (with the exception of this recipe for cauliflower and pasta). It would have been better with regular pasta, but it was still good and I’m looking forward to the leftovers.

Then tonight I made Smoked Salmon Feta Couscous, which is a ridiculously easy meal. I couldn’t believe it took as little time as it did. I was going to boil some frozen vegetables as a side, but the couscous was ready before I even had time to think about the vegetables, so I said screw it and enjoyed my veggie-less meal, thankyouverymuch.

Made anything tasty lately?

Leave a Reply

