Survey time!

21 Apr

Let’s talk about cell phones.

My 2-year contract with Verizon ends in May. Right now I pay $40 for 450 minutes and another $5 for texting. Add in fees, etc. and an employer discount and I’m paying around $47 per month.

$47 isn’t bad, but I don’t talk that much on my phone. I mostly only use it for texting, which is why I’ve been thinking about trying a pay-as-you-go plan.

My questions to you:

  • How much do you spend per month for your cell plan?
  • Have you used a pay-as-you-go or pre-paid phone?
5 Responses to “Survey time!”

  1. erniebufflo April 21, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    We have two phones on a family share plan from Verizon. We both have BlackBerries. We have unlimited texting, unlimited internet, free phone to phone, and like 500 shared minutes which we never use. We pay $150 per month.

  2. cutecheapstuff April 23, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Do you use the Internet on your phone very much?

  3. erniebufflo April 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    ALL the time. On the bus, I’m on my Google Reader on my BlackBerry. At home, if hubs is on the computer, I’m likely to be watching TV and tweeting via my BlackBerry. I often use Google Maps on the BB as well. I’ll never be able to not have a smartphone again.

  4. allhew70 April 26, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I have a Net 10 prepaid phone. It costs me 10 c a minute for calls and 5c for a text message. That is all I pay, and I only pay for what I use. I have great service and no big surprise bills at the end of the month. I recommend pre paid and Net 10.

  5. sharon May 4, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    we pay about $93/mo after taxes. we have two phones with 900 minutes (which we never use even close to that) plus 250 texts/ea per month. we’re with verizon & our plan was grandfathered in since we were with alltel.

    i covet a blackberry or other smart phone but paying the data plan of $30/mo is not in the budget right now.

    i have a friend who does pay as you go & basically only texts. actually, it’s the same friend you know! (lalee) check with her on it because i think she gets away with less than $25/mo or something. plus she uses her ipod touch for free wireless wherever available.

Leave a Reply

