When less is more

20 Mar

Sadly, my dishwasher did not come with adorable kittens.

One of the things that I really like about my new apartment is that it has a dishwasher. A real working dishwasher! It’s been a few years since I’ve had one, and it’s pretty nice to just turn the dial and let it do its thing. There’s no more letting dishes sit in the sink for way too long – like waaaayyyy too long.

Like you run out of plates and find yourself using a brownie pan to eat dinner out of because it’s easier than washing dishes.

And when that’s not available, you go for a cutting board.

And when that’s dirty, pretty much anything with a flat surface.

Yes, I am that lazy.  The nice and not-so-nice sides of living alone are that you have less mess to clean up, but it’s easier to not bother cleaning up when you’re not subjecting anyone else to the mess.

(In my defense, my last apartment had issues with hot water. It literally took 5 minutes from the time that I turned on the kitchen faucet until the water was hot enough to properly clean dishes. That’s a lot of water being wasted, so I tried to not wash dishes as often. That’s a good excuse, right?)

But enough slob confessions and back to the dishwasher:  I came across this New York Times article, For the Dishwasher’s Sake, Go Easy on the Detergent (via Apartment Therapy) that affirms both my lazy side and my frugal side. According to experts, you can use less detergent (and save money!) and not pre-wash dishes (saves time and energy!). And the same goes for washers and dryers.

So carry on, cheap lazy people. Carry on.

(Photo courtesy of lizzk with creative commons permission.)
Leave a Reply

