When there’s a light

15 Mar

Back at the end of January when I signed the lease for my new apartment, I noticed that the light switch plate in the bedroom was missing. I decided to take the opportunity to jazz things up a little by replacing the plate with something a little more interesting than the usual beige motif.

I turned to etsy and found this switch plate from funky chicken design:

It only cost $5 and $2 for shipping! And she included a couple free gifts with it. I’m happy with my purchase.

However, I wound up not using it for my bedroom because I discovered the light switch doesn’t control anything, so I bought a wireless light switch and put it on top of the existing light switch so that I could control the Ikea KNAPPA lamp that I put up:

I’ve also devised a curtain/headboard to cover up the cord for that lamp, but I’ll discuss that later, as it’s still a work in progress.

Anyway, back to the switch plate – I wound up putting it on the light switch by the front door. Now I see it every time I leave, and it makes me smile.

It’s the little things that count.

Leave a Reply

