What’s cookin?

23 Jan

It’s been a while since we’ve talked about recipes. I haven’t been cooking very much lately, but in the past week I did try a couple new ones.

First up is roasted cabbage with bacon. I rarely buy cabbage because I just don’t really know what to do with it. But this recipe was so popular I thought I’d give it a shot. And it was good – but greasy. I loved the cabbage, and I of course love the bacon, but the grease from the bacon was a little too much. That said, I still enjoyed it. However, the leftovers were soggy and extra greasy.

The other problem I have with this dish is that I only like bacon when it’s super crispy. Some of the bacon became very crispy during the roasting process, but some of it stayed soft. It was still cooked okay, but it just wasn’t at that primo crispy stage. I’m not sure that I would make this again, but I’d still recommend it.

On to the second recipe: garlic noodles. I give it a meh. I don’t think I’ll make it again, but it wasn’t terrible – just average. And now my apartment smells like garlic, which can be good to an extent. However, this garlic smell goes just beyond my threshold of acceptable.

Made anything good – or meh – lately?

2 Responses to “What’s cookin?”

  1. erniebufflo January 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I am obsessed with this 3 ingredient tomato sauce from The Smitten Kitchen. It has awesome flavor, though I’d recommend using a food processor or immersion blender to puree it to a more sauce like texture. I pondered simply eating the sauce with a spoon for dinner last night, and have now decided that I could thin it down with a little stock or cream and it would be a great tomato soup, maybe served with some cheesy toasts.

  2. cutecheapstuff January 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    I totally added that recipe to my To Make Soon list just the other day! I’m bumping it to the front of the queue now!

Leave a Reply

