What’s cookin?

13 Nov

It’s been a while since we’ve talked about recipes. I blame that on the fact that I made a few duds recently (I didn’t think it was possible to make bad fish tacos, but somehow I did). But lately, I’ve made some meals worth mentioning.

First, there was orzo with spinach and pine nuts. The sauteed spinach with red pepper flakes added just the right amount of kick, and the feta cheese didn’t hurt either.

And because I had leftover feta, I made smitten kitchen’s pasta with cauliflower, walnuts and feta. I’ve never cooked with cauliflower, but I thought I’d give it a shot. However, as I was making it, I started to regret it. It just didn’t look that good. But I was totally surprised when I tried it – it was really good! Plus, the cauliflower is really filling, so a small serving goes a long way. My complaint, though, is that this is a TON of food. 1 lb. of pasta + 2 heads of cauliflower = way too much for 1 person. I made this last week, and I’m still working on getting through the leftovers. I highly recommend – even if you’re feeding more than 1 person – to cut this recipe in half. You’ll still have plenty of food! Also, make sure you cut the cauliflower into small pieces. If you leave it in larger pieces, it takes 5,000 years to cook through.

Finally, tonight I made this layered chicken and black bean enchilada casserole. I didn’t expect much from it, but it wound up being really good!

One Response to “What’s cookin?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s cookin? « Cute Cheap Stuff! - January 12, 2011

    […] as much as I try and try, I just don’t really like whole wheat pasta (with the exception of this recipe for cauliflower and pasta). It would have been better with regular pasta, but it was still good and I’m looking forward […]

Leave a Reply

