It’s not that cute

29 Oct

Cold and flu season has begun! This week I’ve been struggling with a cold – or what I hope is just a cold and not something more serious – and it was a reminder about something I failed to mention in my post about home remedies.

While I’m not much of a natural remedies kind of person, I do want to recommend a neti pot. If you’re not familiar with neti pots, basically it’s a little pitcher that allows you to pour saline solution (warm water & salt) into one nostril, and it flows into your nasal passages and then exits through your other nostril.

It’s really attractive.

I know that it sounds gross, and while I can testify that it’s not that enjoyable, I think it really does help clear nasal passages. A few months ago, I had a cold and was totally stuffed up, and using the neti pot did help – even if it was only temporary relief. Those minutes of clear breathing were worth it.

Some people claim that regular use of neti pots can prevent sinus infections, allergy issues, and other health problems. The research on that is a little spotty. But I can say that, at the very least, the neti pot will provide some relief when you’re congested.

If the thought of shooting water up your nose sounds unappealing, then that makes you normal. I don’t particular enjoy doing it, though I do kind of appreciate the novelty of watching water go in and come out. I was a little apprehensive about it, but after watching some videos on youtube (yes, I did!), it looked pretty simple. While I still manage to make a huge mess every time I use it, I really do think it helps relieve congestion.

The neti pot is a good value. It will last a long time as it can be used over and over, and usually runs between $10 and $15. I bought mine at Bed, Bath & Beyond ($5 off coupon!), but they’re pretty popular these days and are probably available at regular drug stores too. If not, you can buy one online.

Cheers!

2 Responses to “It’s not that cute”

  1. erniebufflo October 29, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    If the “nose teapot” as my hubs and I jokingly call it, is too intimidating, you could also just flush your nose with saline solution which is available in sort of nose-spray type bottles over the counter. You could also use a large syringe to irrigate your nose with warm water, which is what sicky hubs had to do over the weekend when he was feeling sick and stuffed up. He informed me that while it did make his nose clear, he was stuffed up again within minutes. I gave him one of my Allegra D for more lasting results.

    In slightly related news: I got both the seasonal flu injection and the H1N1 nasal flumist yesterday, both went swimmingly, and no side effects. I really think more vaccines should be available in nose-spray form!

  2. cutecheapstuff October 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    Yeah, spray always sounds better than a needle. I will say I barely felt my flu shot, but for the next couple days my arm was sore.

Leave a Reply

