Minty fresh

23 Oct

I’m not really into keeping track of everything I buy (though I should be). But one thing that I have found to be handy is a free program at Mint.com.

Mint allows you to link all of your bank accounts, credit cards, loans, 401(k), and pretty much any other financial outlets all into 1 handy page. It’s not going to replace your online banking, but it allows for a quick way to get an overall estimate of how much you’re spending and where. It can be quite telling!

It’s safe (or as safe as an online account can be), and it’s free and easy to use. It’ll take a little time to enter all of the information for your accounts, but after that it’s a breeze.

One of the things that I really like about Mint is the transactions page. It puts every financial transaction (aside from things you paid for with cash) on 1 page and automatically classifies each transaction into a category. It’s necessary, however, to go through and look at how it classifies because sometimes it will put things in the wrong category.

It can also do strange things to the names of companies. My favorite one is from an awesome bar/restaurant here in Ballard (Seattle) called Hattie’s Hat. This is how it showed my transaction:

hattie

Ahhh. It still makes me laugh. While I certainly appreciate the Shat, I think my favorite part is the Wa. As in “Hattie shat whaaaaa?” Needless to say, Hattie’s Hat will forever be known as Hattie Shat.

Anyway, if you haven’t already checked out Mint, I suggest doing so. It might not change how you spend, but it’s at least a reminder about how much.

One Response to “Minty fresh”

  1. erniebufflo October 23, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    Mint has changed my life. You’d think a shared account would have been all the accountability I need. Nope. Getting texts from Mint about how I’ve spent three times as much on clothes this month as compared to last? Perfect for shaming me into better behavior.

Leave a Reply

