20% off at Sephora

22 Oct

Sephora is having a Friends & Family sale where you can get 20% off by using code ff2009. The code works on sale items as well.

Speaking of Sephora, I went in there recently because I was curious about Bare Escentuals, and the saleswoman gave me a demo. While she was doing it, she was raving (a million words a minute) about how great it looked on me. When she was finished, she had me look in the mirror and said very enthusiastically “Can’t you see the difference?”

And I smiled and nodded and said yes. But, really, I couldn’t see a difference. As nice as she was, I just wanted her to stop talking, so I agreed with whatever she said.

I didn’t dislike it; I’m just not sure I want to pay that much for make-up, but I keep thinking about all those reviews on Sephora about how great it is, and I wonder if I committed to it, would I love it too?

Anyone have strong feelings about this product?

(Thanks, Seattle Moms Deal Finder)

5 Responses to “20% off at Sephora”

  1. erniebufflo October 22, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    I can’t speak to Bare Escentuals, but I use the Neutrogena mineral sheers powder with the built in brush, and I like it pretty well. I probably won’t buy it again though, as I find that mineral makeup is a little too heavy for my tastes, and can settle into creases and lines.

  2. Melissa October 22, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    I haven’t tried Bare Escentuals, but I’ve been using mineral makeup from the drugstore for about 6 months and I *do* love it. I only use light powder and occasional blush or eyecolor, but I’ve finally been able to stop the breakout cycle that has been on my face since age 13. I haven’t found it to be heavy at all.

  3. Jennifer October 23, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    It was too heavy for me too. Especially in the summer in Texas heat, I felt like I could feel it either sliding around on my face or burrowing into my pores, which were open from the heat and humidity. I’ll admit that some of that may have been my imagination, but I still stand by my comment that it was too heavy for me.

  4. Rebecca November 3, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    I’m a Physician’s Formula devotee. It’s the only stuff that doesn’t make me break out-in acne or excema-and they have a great range of stuff at reasonable prices (I buy it at Fred Meyer, and they frequently have buy one, get one half off sales). It’s all mineral-based, but they have a wide swelection of formulas, from very light tinted moisturizers and powders to heavier coverage foundations, so if something is too heavy or light they probably have another option. And their eye shadow collections are fun.

Leave a Reply

