What’s Cookin?

8 Oct

I have been cooking up a storm this week. I didn’t really intend to. I had a couple recipes planned, but then I had leftover ingredients so I had to make more stuff to use up that stuff.

Most of what I made isn’t worth mentioning, but here are a few things:

  • Spinach and basil lasagna – I made a half batch, and it was really good. It’s also the easiest lasagna I have ever made. No chopping, no boiling, no effort.
  • Shrimp with white beans – This was pretty good, but it’s very very beany. Next time, I would reduce the amount of beans and add more tomatoes.
  • And finally my favorite: The BETA sandwich. You guuuuuyyyssss!! It’s so good. I used the recipe here for the Spanglish sandwich (a BLT with egg and avocado – a BELTA). I did not have lettuce, so mine was a BETA. I made substitutions (shredded cheddar instead of monterey jack, plain ol’ wheat sandwich bread instead of the nice bread), but even my lame-o cheaper version of the sandwich was really good. I highly recommend it!

Made anything lately?

2 Responses to “What’s Cookin?”

  1. Misty October 8, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    The BELTA (or BETA, as it were) sandwich sounds awesome! Bobby doesn’t eat eggs, though, so I may have to save that one for dinner one night when he’s at work!

    I made a hamburger and veggie stew yesterday, and it turned out pretty good. It was super easy! I used about a pound of hamburger meat (with added salt, black pepper and red pepper), a can of whole kernel corn, about half a pound of red beans, a can of tomatoes, a whole onion, about five potatoes cut into smaller chunks, some fresh garlic and basil. All this went into my massive crockpot with approx. two cups beef broth, a bottle of marsala cooking wine and about four cups of water. I added some more salt and pepper to the mix and set the slow cooker on eight hours. It was really easy, though if I had it to do again, I’d probably brown the hamburger meat before putting it in the crockpot, because the texture was sort of weird. I think this would actually be really good without the hamburger or with stew beef, too.

    • Misty October 8, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

      Oh, and I forgot to add that I ended up with a large container left over that is now in my freezer for an easy warm-up dinner on a cold night coming up in the fall/winter.

Leave a Reply

