A handy baking tip

5 Oct

I came across this post recently on The Kitchn that explains how to make brown sugar.

For each cup of sugar, add 1 to 2 tablespoons of molasses for light brown sugar, and up to 1/4 cup for dark brown sugar. Depending on the recipe, you can either combine them in the food processor or just mix them together with other ingredients.

That’s pretty good to know! Brown sugar gets clumpy and while there are ways to fix that, it’s nice to know that you don’t even have to buy brown sugar in the first place.

Now you may be thinking “Why would I have molasses handy but not brown sugar?” Here is why you need to have molasses: The best ginger cookies ever. I’m not that big of a ginger fan, but these cookies are amaaaaazing!

4 Responses to “A handy baking tip”

  1. Jennifer October 7, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    Nice! Thanks! I bought molasses for a random recipe a couple of months ago, and I’ve been wondering how the hell I’d use it up.

  2. Jennifer October 7, 2009 at 2:04 am #

    Plus I hate those lumps that get in brown sugar.

  3. HRu October 8, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    Isn’t there some wisdom out there regarding nuking brown sugar in the microwave to remove lumps?

    Thank you for posting this ginger cookie recipe. I am a fanatic – I have more than several times left Trader Joe’s with THREE tubs of their Triple Ginger Cookies. I have been looking for just such a recipe and I CAN’T wait to try this one out. Perfect timing b/c the baking holidays are coming!

    P.S. I’m really getting into your blog, Terri. This is my second comment in 2 months. So thanks and thanks and thanks.

  4. Terri October 9, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    Thank YOU!

Leave a Reply

