Lane Bryant 25% off

23 Sep

Here are a couple of Lane Bryant 25% off discount codes that supposedly expire 9/27:

000252232

000256742

I’d like to take a second to do a little rant about plus-size clothes and Lane Bryant. For years, I accompanied my mom to that store, and I eventually wound up buying jeans there for myself a few times. So I can say from experience that shopping there is not fun. In a mall full of cute, relatively cheap clothes, Lane Bryant manages to charge a fortune for clothes that oftentimes aren’t that cute. They get away with it because compared to some other plus-size stores, LB has more fashionable clothes. But that’s really not saying a lot.

I can’t tell you how happy I am that I don’t have to shop there anymore. I don’t want that to sound like I’m bragging because I’m really not! Miss Fitness USA – I am not. Yes, I’m glad that I lost some of that weight and am healthier, blah blah blah, but what really gets me excited is that I’m not subjected to a limited and expensive selection at stores like LB.

It’s not fair that plus-size fashion choices are so limited. Isn’t the average size of American women like a 14? Now I’m all for being healthy and I encourage everyone carrying extra weight to do something about it (myself included). But regardless of your feelings about what is considered a healthy size, it’s silly that we can’t acknowledge reality and make better clothes for all women.

2 Responses to “Lane Bryant 25% off”

  1. Rebecca September 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Oof, I totally agree with you Terri. I have been everything from a size 6 to an 18, and not only is there a lack of cute clothing in the larger sizes, but the prevailing styles themselves are never flattering on larger women. So many times I see something that is cute and trendy and realize that on someone with a bust larger then a 32A it will look horrendous. Cut and shape of clothes is just as important as size-if I find something cut to my body I can get it in a size smaller than usual, whereas if the item is not cut for my shape, it doesn’t matter how large I go, it still won’t fit right (hence the extreme difficulty in finding good pants!)

    It is amazing in an American society where the average size is large that more retailers are not taking advantage of this. You would think they would follow the money!

    • Terri September 24, 2009 at 3:53 am #

      I really wonder what the plus-size market will be like in 10 years – something’s going to have to give eventually, as I don’t expect the average American to get smaller.
      It seems like the limited selection and bad styles and cuts are like some sort of punishment for not being thin, as if being overweight in a society that values being thin isn’t crappy enough to deal with – you also get to wear ugly clothes!

Leave a Reply

