What’s cookin?

15 Sep

I am not a vegetable kind of person. Never have been. But I’m trying to improve on that, and fortunately, I have the world’s best broccoli recipe to help me.

Are you intrigued? Well, you should be, because this broccoli will rock your face off. I have made it many times and it never fails to deliver. I have to stop myself from eating the whole pan in one sitting. Now, with the oil, nuts, and cheese, it might not be the healthiest vegetable dinner ever, but, hey, there’s broccoli in there somewhere.

While I had a successful broccoli dinner tonight, I had a not-so successful dessert. I’ve had this recipe for Cherries and Cream Pie bookmarked for years, and the other day at Trader Joe’s I finally came across that jar of Morello cherries I’ve been looking for.

It started off well. The cake base was fine, the cherries were fine, but somehow I messed up the cream cheese topping. Instead of spreading on all smooth-like, mine was so liquidy I had to pour it on, so it mixed in with the rest of the cake, resulting in this:

piecake

That’s not quite right. Oh well. It still tasted okay, but I don’t think I’d make it again.

Made anything good (or bad) lately?

2 Responses to “What’s cookin?”

  1. Jennifer September 15, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    I made this cake a few months ago and it tasted amazing, but I forgot to flour the pan so it fell apart into cake crumbs. So it was a good and bad endeavor. I’ll definitely try it again.

  2. Terri September 16, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    ooh that looks good!

Leave a Reply

