What’s cookin?

4 Sep

Tonight I made one of my favorite dishes: Smoked salmon pasta.

I can’t say there’s any one thing truly outstanding about it, but I just really like it. It’s pretty and it’s like something I’d get in a restaurant. And I’m a sucker for smoked salmon, so when you add lemon, pinenuts, dill, and pasta, I’m happy! The recipe is pretty flexible; I substituted skim milk and a pat of butter for the cream and onions for the shallots. And because I’ve been home during the day and watching Rachael Ray, I threw on some parmesan before serving. Delicious!

I would like to make this more often, but I have a hard time paying for smoked salmon. I really like it, but it’s kind of expensive for the amount that you get.

But I did manage to take advantage of a good deal at the grocery store last week – QFC had giant packages of blueberries for $3.88! I made blueberry crisp, which uses 6 cups of blueberries, so it worked out well.

I substituted walnuts for pecans, and I regret that. The smokey walnut flavor just doesn’t work. But I still like the recipe – it’s a little bit healthier than some of the other blueberry desserts I was considering making. The dish is mostly blueberries with just a little bit of crumble on top, and it only uses half a stick of butter.

What have you made lately?

3 Responses to “What’s cookin?”

  1. erniebufflo September 4, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    Since we joined a CSA, I’ve got a lot of fresh produce to deal with. I made squash casserole last night, and it turned out pretty good!

  2. Terri September 5, 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    What was in the casserole? I’ve never been much of a squash fan, but I feel like I should learn to like it.

  3. erniebufflo September 5, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    It’s basically yellow squash, with a mixture of 1 beaten egg and some milk and salt and pepper and maybe other spices, topped with cheese and either crushed crackers or breadcrumbs and baked in an oven.

Leave a Reply

