What’s cookin’

22 Aug

Last night I had friends over for dinner, and I decided to go with the old stand-by: carbs.

Relying again on my favorite food blog, Culinary in the Country, I made a dish that I’d bookmarked a long time ago: Four Cheese Baked Penne. And it was really good – much better than I had expected. And it’s a little bit healthier than your average mac and cheese dish. It uses cottage cheese (i don’t like cottage cheese, but in recipes like this, it’s not so bad), so you can go with a light cottage cheese. Plus, you can use whole wheat pasta, so that’s extra fiber – or whatever it is that makes whole wheat pasta healthier. Just make sure you use a big skillet because it’s a lot of food to stir.

I also made Terri Salad. Okay, maybe it’s not officially Terri Salad, since I know other people make this salad too, but I’d like to go ahead and take credit.

Terri Salad:

  • baby spring mix or whatever lettuce you like (just please not iceberg)
  • dried cranberries
  • walnuts
  • crumbled gorgonzola cheese, preferably Trader Joe’s (I had to substitute with blue cheese because TJ’s was out of gorgonzola – the nerve!)
  • this is key: Paul Newman’s Lite Raspberry Walnut Vinaigrette – it’s the best dressing ever. or you could make your own, if you’re fancy like that.
  • optional: mandarin orange slices, chopped apples, or sliced strawberries (i didn’t use any of these)

Made anything good lately?

2 Responses to “What’s cookin’”

  1. erniebufflo August 22, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    We’re trying to eat vegetarian at least 2 days per week, and this week the big veggie dish was Ratatouille. Which, really, I just love to say. Sort of like Francisco. Anyway, I had made it before, following this Rachael Ray recipe. Instead of 2 zucchini, I used 1 zucchini and 1 squash, because that’s what I had, and 3 cans of tomatoes instead of fresh, because, again, that’s what I had. Instead of serving it in wraps, I served it over whole wheat pasta, and I used feta cheese on top because I had that instead of goat cheese. Anyway, all the veggies in it are in season right now, it makes a TON of food, and you could freeze leftovers in ziplock baggies for yumminess later.

  2. Demelza August 25, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    That is totally Terri Salad…I’ve had it, and it is delish! Thanks Terri!!!

Leave a Reply

