Recipe recommendations

13 Jul

Lately I have been spending a lot of money on take-out food. I just haven’t felt like cooking, and what happens when you don’t have prepared meals at home? You get lazy and you go out to eat instead. Unfortunately that becomes expensive and often not healthy. It isn’t cheap or cute.

Today I decided that I really needed to ease back into cooking. I am not much of a cook so I tend to avoid doing it. But I do read a lot of recipe blogs and I have about 47 million recipes bookmarked, so I certainly have resources.

Anyway, on to what I made tonight. I have a little jar of Trader Joe’s pesto in my fridge that needed to be used up, and I came across a recipe for Tomato & Pesto Pizza. I don’t normally use recipes when I make pizza, but I gave this one a shot.

I didn’t use as much mozzarella as the recipe said, but it still turned out okay. Not the most exciting pizza, but I might make it again. On my second piece, I drizzled balsamic vinegar on it and that added a new flavor.

On to dessert – At QFC today, I bought a small container of strawberries for $1 (cheap!), and I just happened to have a recipe bookmarked for Strawberry Cobbler.

Let me tell you, it’s pretty good. I didn’t have almond extract, so I substituted vanilla extract and it was fine. The cobbler is really tasty when served with ice cream. (By the way, Culinary in the Country is my favorite recipe blog, and most of the recipes I’ve tried have been awesome – the cobbler was no exception.)

Made anything good lately? Do tell!

Leave a Reply

