Organic food vs. frugality

27 May

organicfruitMy aim with this blog is more than just showcasing (sometimes cute) deals – I also want to talk about frugality and what it looks for each of us to manage money, especially as (relatively) young people. We have differing needs and wants, but one thing we all buy is food. Organic food has become more and more popular in the last few years, but sometimes it’s expensive. I have faced these questions, and I’m sure you have as well: Is the price of an organic label really worth it? Just how bad is my non-organic food anyway? 

This post from Apartment Therapy: The Kitchen has some useful links to information about organic food, including:

I have to admit, I really only buy organic food when it’s on sale and the same price as non-organic food. Which means that I hardly ever buy organic! 

Are there foods that you only buy organic? Does buying organic matter to you? Are pesticides really that big of a deal? What are your thoughts?

Photo licensed under Creative Commons.
5 Responses to “Organic food vs. frugality”

  1. erniebufflo May 28, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Organic is just one of my multiple food concerns. I’m not yet sold that organic food is healthier, so my reasons for buying it are generally environmental. And in that case, because of shipping related emissions, I tend to prioritize buying local, at my farmer’s market, over buying organic. Pesticides are definitely a big deal, because they contaminate water systems, can cause cancer, and are also made from fossil fuels like natural gas and oil, so I do try to avoid them when I can.

    A great and cheap thing to do if you have a little space (seriously, little, look into square foot gardening) is to be your OWN organic farmer. We’re growing herbs, tomatoes, squash, broccoli, cauliflower, beans, peas, onions, and carrots this year. Seeds are very very cheap, I control what chemicals get used, and I have to say a vine-ripened tomato freshly picked tastes way better than anything you can get at the store.

  2. Uncanny May 29, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    I do buy organic apples because they’re only a little more expensive than regular and they just look so much more real. They also taste great.

    I don’t buy organic meat… but I eat a lot of Bambi. That’s organic, right?

  3. Misty May 29, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    I don’t generally buy organic grocery store food, but I like to buy at the local farmers market. That way if I have questions about the produce, I can ask the person who planted it, took care of it and harvested it. I’m also picking from a friend’s fields later this summer and hoping to get on board with a crop share or possibly a community garden next year.

    I’m a much bigger supporter of either growing your own, like Sarah mentioned, or at least buying local. And local prices are definitely cheaper (at least here) than buying organic at a chain store.

  4. cutecheapstuff May 31, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    Oh Bambi … *tear*

    Those are good points about the environmental impact of shipping. I hadn’t really considered that. I should check out the farmers markets around here.

  5. robbin June 2, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    i think my housemates and i are going to get an organic produce box every few weeks. it will be affordable because we can split the cost.

Leave a Reply

